Welcome to RV UNIVERSITY Thursday, October 01 2020 @ 07:05 am UTC

RV 101- Trailer Towing Mistakes, is your Tow Vehicle & Trailer Properly Matched & Safe to Tow?

  • Friday, August 21 2020 @ 10:09 pm UTC
  • Contributed by:

Hi, I'm Mark Polk with RV Education 101. My goal with this video is to explain all of the confusing RV weight terms and topics in layman terms, to help you make good decisions when it comes to properly matching a tow vehicle with a trailer. When you understand how to calculate fully loaded tow vehicle and fully loaded trailer weights it's easy to determine a safe match for towing. After we find a properly matched truck and trailer, I want to discuss and demonstrate how trailer tongue weight works in conjunction with a weight distribution hitch. When the trailer tongue weight is properly distributed throughout the towing system, It is much easier and safer to tow the travel trailer.

Topics I cover in the video are:

What is trailer tongue weight?
What should you look for when selecting a tow vehicle?
Tow vehicle weights and weight ratings
How to calculate the tow rating using the vehicle's Gross Combined Weight Rating
Travel trailer weights and weight ratings
How to determine fully loaded tow vehicle and trailer weights
What is a weight distribution hitch?
How trailer tongue weight works using a weight distribution hitch
The importance of weighing your tow vehicle and travel trailer.

Happy Camping,
UNDERSTANDING AND CONTROLLING TRAILER SWAY article: https://rv101withmarkpolk.com/2018/04/24/understanding-and-controlling-trailer-sway/

RV Online Training

http://rveducation101.com/

How to Buy the Right RV & Save Thousands Online Video https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv_education_how_to_buy_the_right_rv_-_save_thousands

Travel Trailer & 5th Wheel Trailer RV Orientation Video Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-101-rv-orientation-for-travel-trailer-s-5th-wheel-trailers

Tow Your Travel Trailer Like a Pro Video Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-101-trailer-towing-basics

Tow Your 5th Wheel Like a Pro Complete Online Video Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/tow-your-5th-wheel-like-a-pro

Motorhome RV Orientation Video Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/motorhome-rv-orientation-video-training-course

Drive Your Motorhome Like A Pro Complete Online Video Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/drive-your-motorhome-like-a-pro

RV Care & Preventive Maintenance RV DIY® Online Video Training https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-101-rv-care-preventive-maintenance-online-video-training

RV Essential Items Video Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-essential-items

Winterizing and Storing Your RV Video Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/winterizing-and-storing-your-rv-video

Travel Trailer 4 Video Bargain Set Plus Free RV Checklist ebook https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/travel-trailer-video-bundle

5th Wheel 4 Video Bargain Set Plus Free RV Checklist ebook https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/5th-wheel-video-bundle

Motorhome 4 Video Bargain Set Plus Free RV Checklist ebook https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/motorhome-video-bundle

———————–

A Collection of RV Education 101 E-Books – 9 RV E-BOOK BUNDLE SET https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/a-collection-of-rv-education-101-e-books-9-rv-e-book-bundle-set

An Introduction to RVs E-book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/an-introduction-to-rvs

Insider’s Guide to Buying an RV E-Book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/insider-s-guide-to-buying-an-rv-downloadable-pdf-e-book

Owning & Operating an RV E-Book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/owning-operating-an-rv

The Original Checklists for RVers E-Book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/the-original-checklist-s-for-rvers

RV Campground Basics E-Book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-campground-basics-e-book-course

RV Safety Features, Tips & Tricks E-book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-safety-features-tips-tricks

RV Care & Maintenance E-Book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-care-maintenance-e-book-course

Winterizing & Storing Your RV E-Book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/winterizing-storing-your-rv-e-book

RV Battery Care & Maintenance E-Book Training Course https://rvonlinetraining.com/p/rv-battery-care-maintenance



RV University,a site providing Recreation Vehicle safety, RV maintenance information, RV tips, RV advice and RV instruction for using and maintaining an RV by Mark Polk.
Our best selling "how to" RV walk through orientation videos and e-book titles.
.